top of page

Mercury Prize 2019 Nomination for SEED Ensemble

Updated: Jul 27, 2019

Ten-piece London-based collective SEED Ensemble have been nominated for the Mercury Prize 2019, for their debut album Driftglass.

The debut album from the ten-piece project is led by composer, arranger and saxophonist Cassie Kinoshi was produced by Jason Yarde and mixed by Eric Lau, releasing the record in February 2019 via the London-based indie label Jazz re:freshed.

This year's shortlist also includes rapper Dave for Psychodrama, North London rapper Little Simz for her record Grey and slowthai for his debut release of Nothing Great About Britain.

The Mercury Prize award ceremony first took place in 1992, and promotes the best of UK music and the artists who produce it. This is done through the celebration of the 12 ‘Albums of the Year’, recognising artistic achievement across a range of contemporary music genres. All of the 12 shortlisted artists receive a specially commissioned ‘Album of the Year’ trophy, with the overall winner also receiving a winner trophy and a cash prize of £25,000.

This year's panel of judges includes famous figures such as DJ and veteran broadcaster Annie Mac, jazz musician Jamie Cullum, Head of Music at BBC 6 Music and Radio 2 Jeff Smith, burgeoning superstar Jorja Smith, chief pop critic at The Times Will Hodgkinson as well British rapper Stormzy.

The winner of the award will be announced at the Eventim Apollo on Thursday 19th September.


bottom of page