top of page

Jazz FM Awards 2019 Winners

Don Was, Blue Note Records, Ringo Starr, Beverley Knight, Jacob Collier, Quincy Jones, Sons of Kemet, Makaya McCraven and Nubya Garcia were among the music and entertainment industry figures who featured in yesterday evening’s Jazz FM Awards 2019 ceremony.

Don Was (PPL Lifetime Achievement Award)

Hosted by Jazz FM presenters Chris Philips and Jez Nelson, and coinciding with UNESCO’S International Jazz Day, the ceremony took place at Shoreditch Town Hall in East London, honouring a diverse list of artists ranging from elder jazz statesmen through to the next generation vanguards. Don Was and Blue Note Records collected the prestigious PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, recognising the label’s supreme contribution to jazz history for the past eight decades. Was, also known for his production work with pop and rock stars including the Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Elton John, and Bonnie Raitt, has been the label’s President since 2012 and played a tremendous role in its continued prosperity into the 21st century. Ringo Starr was on hand to congratulate his good friend and collaborator.

24-year-old prodigious multi-instrumentalist and 2-time Grammy-winner Jacob Collier received the PRS For Music Gold Award. Presented with the honour by radio personality Simon Mayo.

The night was filled with memorable moments, including an emotional tribute to the late Aretha Franklin from Beverley Knight, who brought the house down with her powerful version of “(You Make Me Feel Like A) Natural Woman”. The public voted Nubya Garcia as the UK Jazz Act of the Year nodding to her meteoric rise over the past 12 months, and Sons of Kemet won Album of the Year for the critically-acclaimed ‘Your Queen Is A Reptile’; a welcomed feat after being snubbed at the Mercury Prize Awards last year. BBC’s celebrated political sketch show Dead Ringers made a comical appearance with Lewis MacLeod and Duncan Wisbey presenting Sons of Kemet their award as President Trump and Jools Holland.

Beverley Knight paid tribute to Aretha Franklin

The vibrancy of the UK’s thriving young jazz scene was once again a key theme throughout the night, with 23-year-old Poppy Ajudha reigning supreme over Leon Bridges and Jose James as Soul Artist of the Year, Cassie Kinoshi, who leads the immensely popular SEED Ensemble bagging Breakthrough Act of the Year, and rising jazz singer Cherise Adams-Burnett receiving the Vocalist of the Year Award after opening the ceremony with a captivating stripped-back performance in duet with Blues Artist of the Year winner Eric Bibb. 

The evening closed with an incendiary performance from South London collective Steam Down, who were dual winners in the categories of The Innovation Award and Live Experience of the Year Award for their residency show featuring US jazz giant Kamasi Washington. In an unexpected twist the band were joined on-stage by International Jazz Act of the Year winner Makaya McCraven, the prolific Chicago-based drummer who has been pivotal in connecting thriving underground scenes from around the globe.

Poppy Ajudha (Soul Act Of The Year) & Nubya Garcia (UK Jazz Act)

The full list of winners is as follows:

Breakthrough Act sponsored by GHS Global Hospitality

Cassie Kinoshi

The Digital Award sponsored by Oanda

Louis Cole

The Innovation Award sponsored by Mishcon De Reya

Steam Down

Instrumentalist Of The Year sponsored by Savile Row Gin

Jean Toussaint

International Jazz Act Of The Year sponsored by Lateralize

Makaya McCraven

Soul Act Of The Year sponsored by RCS

Poppy Ajudha

Blues Act Of The Year sponsored by British Airways

Eric Bibb

Vocalist Of The Year sponsored by Denbies

Cherise Adams-Burnett

UK Jazz Act (Public Vote) sponsored by Cambridge Audio

Nubya Garcia

Album Of The Year (Public Vote) sponsored by Arqiva

Sons Of Kemet – Your Queen Is A Reptile

Live Experience Of The Year (Public Vote) sponsored by Yamaha UK

Steam Down featuring Kamasi Washington

PRS for Music Gold Award

Jacob Collier

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award

Don Was and Blue Note Records


bottom of page