top of page

George Bloomfield - Twelfth (Single Release)

Leeds-based composer and producer George Bloomfield released his first single ‘Twelfth’ on 22 May, a summery funk chiller.

Musically, Bloomfield's production sits somewhere between his influences Skinshape and KOKOROKO, with the funk elements reminiscent of the tunes he co-writes as the guitarist in Leeds funk and soul group Mondo Bizarre.

'Twelfth' is a sumptuous soundscape, with the guitar trickling with a fantastic reverb to echo the chilled vibes as the bass is prominent throughout. Featuring the horns section of Alex Harrod (tenor saxophone) Elena Platt (trumpet) and Freya Thompson (flute) from Mondo Bizarre too, they add emotive phrasings to gently nudge you into a mood of serenity amongst the different layers of guitar. The guitar solo bangs, a really polished and graceful piece of improvisation that positions Bloomfield comfortably at the same level as his contemporaries Tom Misch and Oscar Jerome.

His guitar talent has also transferred to his production skills, and with more releases scheduled for the rest of 2020, 'Twelfth' is an impressive start showing Bloomfield's ability as an adept, gifted producer.


Stream 'Twelfth' here:

Follow and keep up to date with George Bloomfield here:


bottom of page